Recycling Center

Informal settlements have been established next to the rivers and wetlands in the metropolitan area of Johannesburg. Some spots of the waterfront of those communities have been converted into informal garbage dumps which later have the effect of contaminating the rivers and causing floods due to the accumulation  of trash. The aim of this project is to recover one of these spots and bring it back to the community with an intervention that considers a recycling hub and a public space.

The Natalspruit Wetland


The Natalspruit wetland goes along townships, mining sites, and industrial neighborhoods. Due to these activities, recently many contaminants have been found in the water. In addition, informal settlements grew within those areas and informal dumping sites were located next to them. The wetland waters are used for local consumption and the wetland is being used as a playground for children. This is a condition found in different areas around the Johannesburg metropolitan area.

Cleaning the wetland

Buhle Park

Adjacent to the Natalspruit Wetland, the Buhle Park informal community is located, this settlement grew along with the industrial town of Roodekop. In this area the streets are not paved, the people lack potable water, and they use water from the river.

1. A recycling hub is proposed so the local community can bring the trash produced in their homes to be converted into biogas, compost and recycled material to be sold.
2. The adjacent industrial areas help with the construction materials they produce to build the facility.
3. The wetland is converted into a place for the community instead of being a place for trash.


Sanne van den Breemer
Filip Geerts
Ilmar Hurkxkens

Director of Studies

Salomon Frausto


Nigel Alarcon(MX), Pooja Bhave(IN), Mariano Cuofano(IT), Fabiola Cruz(PE), Alonso Díaz(MX), Xiaoyu Ding(CN), Ines Garcia‑Lezana(ES), Sandra Garcia(ES), Martino Greco(IT), Sebastian Hitchcock(ZA), Alejandra Huesca(MX), Yesah Hwangbo(KR), Takuma Johnson(US), Yi-Ni Lin(TW), Paola Tovar(MX), Cristhy Mattos(BR), Preradon Pimpakan(TH), Adi Samet(IL), Raymond Tang(US), Kulaporn Temudom(TH), Danai Tsigkanou(GR), Jesse Verdoes(NL), Rongting Xiao(CN)