Rebound Landscape

The primary mine operations are drastically changing the topography of the West Rand. Krugersdorp is one of the Witwatersrand mining cities in West Rand, South Africa. This site has been operating gold mining since 1917 and has Uranium as a by-product of gold remining from 1954 to 1964 and 1978 to 1985. Consequently, the cycle of water and soil has been so dis-turbed by mining and remining activities. This project deals with the post-mining landscape to attempt remediation condi-tions from a mined-out gold field in the West of Johannesburg. The acid water and soil remediation process can be an op-portunity to form the landscape, clean up the ground, and create a foundation for urbanization.

Randfontein, West Rand

26°07’45.0”S 27°41’54.1”E

In Randfontein, a town located 45 km west of Johannesburg, report found that the impact of the historical use of mercury in gold extraction, given the environmental impact, acidic water began decanting out of a disused mine on Randfontein Estates in the West Rand. Raising concern that caustic water flooding abandoned mine tunnels under Johannesburg will soon spill over into the water table of the surrounding Witwatersrand basin.
        As a result of the creek drains within an old gold mining area in Randfontein near Krugersdorp, it receives both acid mine drainage (AMD) discharged from subsurface mine tunnels and runoff from surrounding surface mine waste piles.

Acid Mine Drainage

Randfontein, West Rand

The section presents surface and water contaminated by the mining operation. Acid Mine Drainage is caused when water flows over or through sulfur-bearing materials forming solutions of net acidity. With an approach in response to the post-mining landscape in Randfontein as a historical landscape, the dramatic landscape interim of the undulating made by a series of mining operations and dumps created by many reactions of heavy metals to the surrounding area.


Sanne van den Breemer
Filip Geerts
Ilmar Hurkxkens

Director of Studies

Salomon Frausto


Nigel Alarcon(MX), Pooja Bhave(IN), Mariano Cuofano(IT), Fabiola Cruz(PE), Alonso Díaz(MX), Xiaoyu Ding(CN), Ines Garcia‑Lezana(ES), Sandra Garcia(ES), Martino Greco(IT), Sebastian Hitchcock(ZA), Alejandra Huesca(MX), Yesah Hwangbo(KR), Takuma Johnson(US), Yi-Ni Lin(TW), Paola Tovar(MX), Cristhy Mattos(BR), Preradon Pimpakan(TH), Adi Samet(IL), Raymond Tang(US), Kulaporn Temudom(TH), Danai Tsigkanou(GR), Jesse Verdoes(NL), Rongting Xiao(CN)